Much ado about…..

gottaBKD

Falernum, Mount Gay, Vera Wangs Princess and the Dawg House!

Posted by gottabkd on Friday, July 25, 2008

What do these things have in common? Not much really except that right now they happen to be three of my favourite things, two of which are made in Barbados and the third can be purchased duty free while travelling through Barbados.

The fourth is where a certain someone is right now and well, just incase they happen to be reading this like as if, but what the heck, I’ll take a chance well I hope you get the hint 🙂
Falernum is a by-product of Barbados sugar cane… it’s a liqueur that is rich and velvety, thick and smooth displaying flavors of lime, almond, vanilla, ginger, and clove…. Right now, you cannot purchase this product in Canada, or at least at the LCBO located throughout Ontario….. trust me I have tried…. several times to purchase this yummy product… but to no avail.

Falernum comes from two bottler’s that I know of… My fave is John D. Taylor’s Velvet… it’s not too sweet nor too clove flavoured compared to Hanschell’s Old Time Recipe that tends to be a bit sweeter, more clovey flavoured and a little thicker…

It’s a sweetener as well and can be purchased sans alcohol… and I have three bottles without the alcohol. Not sure what to do with them but on the back of the bottle it clearly says the following:

To produce 11% Alc/Vol Velvet Falernum, mix 3 1/2 parts of the non-alcoholic version to 1 part 40% Alc./Vol of Old Brigand Rum…

Uhhhh, Ok, but here in Canada, or at least at my local LCBO within Ontario, I cannot get Old Brigand Rum… a-n-y-w-h-e-r-e… at all, in Ontario.

So in comes the Mount Gay Rum that is oh so very delicious. That may just do. Except that is it less expensive when purchased in Barbados, and I care about the price because I will need enough to completely transform the three non-alcoholic versions into versions with alcohol.
Help!!!! I need a jug of the stuff… or at least a gallon of the Old Brigand Rum listed on the bottle, which can be bought while travelling to Barbados…. get it now? hint!!!!

And how does Vera Wang come into this… well she is my fave perfume right now and any of her fragrances would be nice to add to my collection. But…. since I do not have her Princess and I tried to get it while I was there, I would love to add this one to my collection. If not that particular perfume, then either of her shower gels from the original or the Sheer Veil would be nice. Check the links for American Price comparisons.

So while the dawg house is currently located in Barbados and will remain there for a minimum of 5 days not to mention the time when the dawg returns, the dawg must eventually return home…. hopefully with the gifts, listed above, in hand…. One, two or all three may not be enough to let the dawg out, but it could be a good place to start.

That is if you are reading this and I think you are! Besides, there are enough links provided to help you out. 😉

Got it???

Cheers

Till Next Time….. Tags: , , , , ,

And don’t forget to like what you've read, click here to give this author a higher rating at blogskinny.com AddThis Social Bookmark Button © 2006-2008 All rights reserved.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
