Much ado about…..

gottaBKD

Dear Friends….

Posted by gottabkd on Wednesday, April 16, 2008

I received a very disturbing email today describing an “art installation” project that took place in 2007. It described events where the artist chained up a defenseless dog and starved it to death. That’s right folks, he did this “all in the name of art”!!!

The email included pictures of this helpless dog while patrons of the studio entered, looked at the art, the dog and did absolutely NOTHING for this starving animal!!! According to the notes, the artist took a stray and dying dog off the streets and used it within a competition amongst other artists. Turns out the artist won and will be representing at the Bienal Centroamericana Honduras 2008. No word on whether he plans to “install another dog for death” during this showing, but people want him banned from the show all together.

I cannot believe that in this day and age, some artist, in some other country believes that starving an animal to death in a public display, is considered art. Well my friends, apparently it is. Sad…

I get that this happened in a third world country and
I get that the dog was on already living on the streets, and
I get that the dog may have been ill, and
I get that the dog may have died on the streets alone and
I get that not everyone, everywhere has the Pet mentality North Americans have, but what
I don’t get is why no one, including the artist, did anything to help save the dog… or at least feed it??.

This site (in Spanish) explains it all here and this is the English translation . I refuse to repost the pictures from this horrible art installation, but must warm you… they are posted at the site and are disturbing.

So I, being thousands of miles away have decided to sign a petition to have the artist stopped during the 2008 Bienal Centroamericana Honduras.

The petition is located and hosted by PetitionOnline.com and you too can support this cause:

Dear Friends,

I have just read and signed an online petition: “Boycott to the presence of Guillermo Vargas “Habacuc” at the Bienal Centroamericana Honduras 2008″. It hosted on the web by PetitionOnline.com, the free online petition service, at: http://www.PetitionOnline.com/ea6gk/
I personally agree with what this petition says, and I think you might agree, too. If you can spare a moment, please take a look, and consider signing yourself.

I urge you to take a look and decide for yourself whether or not you wish to sign the petition. If we do not stand up for abused animals, who will?It’s time to end the madness….
What do you think? Comments are welcomed….

 

Till Next Time …..Tags: , , , , ,

And don’t forget to like what you've read, click here to give this author a higher rating at blogskinny.com AddThis Social Bookmark Button

2 Responses to “Dear Friends….”

  1. Vasantha Krishnamurthy said

    I am not sure you have read all about the artist. He is from Nicaragua. In the city he lives, there is a big problem of dogs starving and dying on the street. As any other artist – he wanted to highlight the problem. This was his way of doing it. Further – there is no proof that he actually starved the animal or that it died because of the display. The artist is purposely not clarifying that to the media. It’s his view that people are hypocritical and do not do any good actually when they see a dog on the streets; while they seem to make a lot of noise of it on the internet. Even the animal rights activists are not claiming that he killed the animal. They are just against using live animals as exhibits. As a normal, thinking and empathetic person – I actually would hope that you understand his point-of-view … surprised that you don’t !!!

  2. gottabkd said

    Hello Vasantha, thank you for stopping by and commenting on this controversial artist and his “art installation”.

    I want you to know that before I wrote this post, I did do some research about the artist. Unfortunately, like so many others, I was unable to ascertain exactly what the artists motivations were in doing this “art installation”.
    Nowhere could I find an answer to that question, and even you admit above that “The artist is purposely not clarifying that to the media.”
    This is very strange to me, after all if the medium is the message then why did he not fess up to his own message.
    If, as you say, this “art installation” was his way of letting the world know about these starving street animals and the people that “just pass them by while doing nothing” then why wasn’t that made clearer? Why wasn’t there some written explanation posted near the installation so as not to allow others to misconstrue it’s true meaning? Why aren’t more people, like yourself, posting comments all over the blogsphere supporting this installation or at least defending it or even supporting the artist?
    My guess, as an outsider, is that even though his intentions may have been as you say, his method of getting his message out is what is offensive to the people of the world. It is because I do not understand the method of presenting his point of view that I felt compelled to sign the petition.

    I cannot pretend to even agree with this artist and his methods, even though this installation has accomplished what you believe to be his motive: bring to light the plight of these starving animals. To that he has accomplished this, but at what expense?

    Could he have gotten his message out to the world in a better more humane way?
    If he is so concerned about this issue, I wonder if has he taken the proceeds of his exhibition and put the monies towards a campaign to help this issue? I could not find any evidence to that anywhere so I can only assume that his motive was more of controversy and bringing attention to himself as opposed to highlighting the plight of these animals. I could be wrong, but if I am, why could I find no evidence that he used this exhibit to actually help the situation?

    It is so hard for an outsider to completely understand when understanding may not have been the motive here at all.

    I do thank you for trying to enlighten us though and presenting what you believe to be his motives, but again if this artist is actually working to help these animals then why has he not admitted anything to the media? Why has he not started a foundation to put his monies earned towards this issue and why couldn’t I find evidence to that?

    This issue is controversial, but more controversial is they way he presented it.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
