Much ado about…..

gottaBKD

Patience is a Virtue That Keeps on Giving

Posted by gottabkd on Monday, April 30, 2007

You all know the saying “when it rains its pours”. It usually refers to the fact that when things go wrong, everything goes wrong. Yet there are things that happen which are beyond your control. The weather is a good example of this and apparently cyberspace is another. Especially if you allow other’s to have control.

Take WordPress.com for example. Here we blog for free, host for free, use the forums/support for free. A great deal if you ask me as it affords me the luxury of allowing someone else “take care of it all” while letting me to just go with the flow. That is till something gets broke.

Today I signed into my site only to discover that it looks…. um different. Like I just got here or something. Ugly is what I call it. So now my patience frustration kicks in. So I go to the forums to “check out the situation”. I find lot’s of other people in the same boat as me. Whew… feeling not so bad now and patience is begining to form. I find multiple threads that, upon reading further, indicate the “bug” has been fixed. Yet I look at my site and wonder.

This is when patience, or at least a reminder of patience kicks in. Since I know this is all free for me, the volunteers in the forums work for free, and WordPress.com works hard to ensure there is little downtime, while offering some great tools for the average blogger, patience is the biggest virtue one can maintain when one is not in control.

But on a frustrating level, when they say the “bug has been fixed” and my site still looks well, crappy I mean abby normal, I wonder what the heck is going on? One tries their best to follow the links, post a comment or two, send in feedback (even when it’s not working right) and get on with the day. But frustration often continues to remind one that patience is truly a virtue that one needs to exercise in a situation like this, even if it is the last thing on your mind.

But here’s the issue:

The free site is used to “try” out new things, see what kind of impact it will have, and then pass it on as part of the wonderful free program that is offered. All fine and dandy to have such upgrades offered… again for free…. to make our blogs look great.
But when things go wrong, one begins to wonder if more communication is needed in the forums and support areas in order to ease the pain. Should you really be affecting the millions of free bloggers, so much so that patience is not the thing first thing on ones mind? Fixing the issue is what comes to mind.
What do I need to do to make this less painful?
What do I need to do to make this less time consuming for me?
What do I need to do to get the site looking normal again?
If the bug is fixed, why isn’t my site?

I just want to know what I need to do to make it right again while maintaining a high patience level that allows for little frustration. (wow that’s a mouthful) But seriously, if the bug is fixed, why does the site look so u-g-l-y???

OK enough of the rant. I have decided to let it go while they continue to work on the problem. Hopefully it will work itself out once it is truly fixed. In the meantime, please excuse the mess and know that WordPress.com is working on this situation.

Thanks for your continued support and readership. Now on with life…

Till Next Time…..Tags: , , ,

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
