Much ado about…..

gottaBKD

Bloodbath Today at Virginia Tech State University.

Posted by gottabkd on Monday, April 16, 2007

As I sit in my home office, the TV is on in the background, and the voices fill the air. Sad thing is the news is all over a story about how 22 students, plus a gunman who have lost their lives in yet another school shooting. I am stunned! What is this world coming to?

Two separate incidents happened two hour apart on the campus of Virginia Tech and the news is breaking the story now. The Hamilton Spectator has a story here and CNEWS has a story here and Virginia Tech has a statement here. with their presidents message here.

As at McGill University in Quebec, Columbine High School in Colorado and Landcaster Mennonite School in Pennsylvania, each of these horrible acts leave us all wondering why? Why did the gunman pick on the innocents? Why these young people who probably did nothing to this person to warrant any horror as gruesome as this to happen in their young lives.

I am horrified for these young people, innocents caught in the may-lay of some messed up person who probably thought this was the only thing left to do. Honestly, I just don’t get it. Never have and probably never will.

These senseless acts of murder, from one human to another, really have no rhyme or reason to them. Not that murder ever has a rhyme to it though. Even when all is said and done, the interviews have been completed, no one really knows what goes on in the head of a desperate person who probably believes there is nothing else to do except lash out in the most horrible way by taking another persons life.

If your feeling that terrible, take responsibility for yourself and get help. Some kind of help…. any kind of help. What is it that makes life so terrible for you that you feel the need to involve others and more importantly take their lives down with you?

We all have bad days…some of us even have really bad days…. but when that happens the first thing on my mind is not “Hey I feel so terrible, life really sucks so I will go get a gun then go to a school and kill some people I don’t even know (or maybe I do) just because I feel so horrible and life really sucks right now.” Nope not the first thing on my mind that’s for sure and not even the last thing. When I hurt, I really have no need to hurt others, at least not intentionally. Instead I will withdraw from everyone and try to deal with the hurt/depression/ill feelings that I have in my own space, in my own time, while getting help from whomever I seek out. That is responsibility. That is taking charge of one’s life, living, learning, and hopefully growing. I am not saying this works for everyone, but it does seem to work for me.

My heart pains for the families, the 22 victims, the number of other students who had to deal with this today and for the one who committed this atrocity. This senseless crime is just that…. senseless.

May God be with you all today through this horrible, horrible situation.

Till Next Time….. Tags: , , , , ,

dove in flight

One Response to “Bloodbath Today at Virginia Tech State University.”

  1. Bloodbath Today at Virginia Tech State University.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
