Much ado about…..

gottaBKD

Winter’s Finest Veggie: Spaghetti Squash.

Posted by gottabkd on Friday, March 2, 2007

A friend of mine, commented on her site that “the venison and spaghetti squash, though, was the stand out dish of the evening” during a review she wrote of the restaurant Côté Sud which is located in San Francisco.

The day I read the review just so happened to be a day I was cooking this strange squash that is normally found only during the winter months up here in Canada. Spaghetti Squash is one of my favourite winter veggies. I use it frequently when substituting any type of pasta for it. It is really easy to “cook”, great on the fibre level, does not leave you feeling “pasta stuffed” and can be used just like noodles.

To cook Spaghetti Squash, cut it in half lengthwise and de-seed it. Here I use a fork to “pull the innards” away from the meat. You can then switch to a spoon to scrape the last hairs off the meat. Once all seeds and any sprouts (don’t eat them as they are very bitter) are removed you can then do one of three things.

Microwave, bake the halves or boil whole.

Microwave: this is the easiest and fastest method. Place the halves in a microwavable dish. Add 1/4 to 1/2 cup of water. Add a lid to the dish to help cook faster. If you don’t have a lid, use a dollar store plate cover or clear plastic wrap like Saran. Cook on high for about 10 minutes, rotating once or twice to cook evenly. Pierce skin with a fork, it should be fork tender and easy to insert.

spaghettisquash spaghettisquashfork

Bake: Place each of the halves face down on a cookie sheet and bake at 350 degrees till fork tender. It will take anywhere from 10 to 60 minutes depending on size.

Boil: Boil the squash whole in a big pot of water. This takes longer as it is hard to keep the squash under water for even cooking. Just keep it rotating so it will cook evenly. It will take about a half hour or so for the skin to soften. Ensure you poke all sides when checking doneness.

Once cooked, whatever method you use, be very careful when handling the cooked product. The skin will be very, very hot. Use a towel to hold the half and with a fork, scrape away the meat of the squash. It will now appear to be “noodle like” just like Angel hair pasta. All the meat should come away from the skin easily, leaving only the skin.

Now your ready to add your favourite pasta sauce or use it plain as a veggie side dish. It can be very tasteless so seasoning with salt, butter and herbs is highly recommended.

Give it a try and you’ll be hooked. Enjoy.

Till next time…. Tags: , , , ,

4 Responses to “Winter’s Finest Veggie: Spaghetti Squash.”

  1. 🙂 Thanks for the plug! I think what made the squash so amazingly good was the sauce that it was in. I couldn’t tell if they had used the sauce to cook the squash in or if they had simply sauced it after cooking it the traditional way you mention above. I haven’t experimented yet, but I thought I’d try cooking it using a bit of broth instead of water next time.

    Personally, I have found that Penzey’s Spices soup bases (http://www.penzeys.com/cgi-bin/penzeys/p-penzeyssoupbase.html) are the best available in my area. In fact, I like all of the herbs and spices I get from Penzeys and have slowly started to replace my store-bought herbs/spices with their’s. I think my husband is sensitive to the fillers in regular grocery store herbs/spices. Penzeys doesn’t have any fillers so you don’t have to use as much seasoning. (OMG – I never thought about paprika as anything more than a color garnish until I had their paprika…the smoked paprika, especially, is amazing! And they have like 50 types of cinnamon. If you’re near a store, you should go (http://www.penzeys.com/cgi-bin/penzeys/penzeysstores.html?id=f6jeXTfq). The smells are wonderful.) The other thing I like about Penzeys is that you don’t get charged a premium for buying smaller quantities. Their philosophy is that your herbs/spices should not be kept for more than about 6 months or they lose their potency.

    Their site is not great but you can download or order their catalog here: http://www.penzeys.com/cgi-bin/penzeys/penzeyscatalog.html.

  2. gottabkd said

    Hey no problem 😉
    Wow Penzy’s sounds great and has given me inspiration to search a spice store here in TdotO. I have never seen any that only sell spices, but maybe I have not looked hard enough :0

    I must check the rates as duty can be a killer. I see the catelog can also be downloaded here.

    Must go throw out my old spices now…. lol
    Thanks for dropping by and sharing.

  3. Bloodyraven said

    Gottabkd…

    Here is a link to two websites about TDOT (Toronto for you non-Torontonians) Spice Stores.

    Cooking Resources

    Spice Trader

    Spice Trader
    805 Queen St W, Toronto, ON (1.20 miles away)
    416-815-8282

    Alternatively, you can try the ST. Lawrence Market or if you are in the Steeles/Yonge area, check out the Health food store called “Ambrosia”. There is also a health food market from Thursdays to Saturdays on Yonge just north of Steeles. (Same area as the Ambrosia store)

    Hope this helps.

    I am an avid Spice person. Enjoy.

  4. gottabkd said

    Thanks Raven,

    I know Ambrosia on Doncaster Ave, with many other locations around town. I never think of them as a fresh spice store though. I will look again.
    Spice Trader sounds good and with 1.2 miles away from your home, easily accessible for you?

    I will check the site, maybe they deliver.

    Thanks for the info and I hope you came back again soon 😉
    Cheers…

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
