Much ado about…..

gottaBKD

What do you resolve?

Posted by gottabkd on Friday, January 12, 2007

It’s the begining of a new year and for most people, they have made resolutions, New Years resolutions…. but I ask why?

Why do we do this at the begining of the New Year? Why do we feel that this is the time to “resolve” something that has yet to be resolved?

And yet thousands of us do it. It seems we make “resolutions” to ourselves and often find that at the end of that year, we either made them happen, or failed to make them happen…. So really, why do we do it?

Is it about being accountable, if only to ourselves? If so why on December 31st of any given year… Why not on your birthday, mother’s day, child’s birthday or any day for that matter?

This practice has been going on for years and the beginning of a new year seems to be the best day, after all it is “day one of the new year!” We tell ourselves things like “this is the year I will loose X number of pounds”, (the number one resolution by the way) or this is the year “I will drink less and eat more healthy”, or this year “I will get physically fit”, this year “I will”….well, you fill in the blank and yet we either forget about them, don’t do them or find ourselves beating ourselves up over them….

Although throughout many cultures, New Years day occurs on very different days, it is however always a time of celebration and a time to ensure good fortune in the coming year.

Dictionary/Reference.com describes it as this:

“A New Year’s resolution is a commitment that an individual makes to a project or a habit, often a lifestyle change that is generally interpreted as advantageous. The name comes from the fact that these commitments normally go into effect on New Year’s Day and remain until the set goal has been achieved, although many resolutions go unachieved and are often broken fairly shortly after they are set.”

Yet continues to say:

“The new year resolution is one example of the rolling forecast-method of planning. According to this method, plans are established at regular short or medium-term time intervals, when only a rough long-term plan exists.

Some see a new year resolution as a form of Autosuggestion.”

So if we are doomed from the get go, is it any wonder we fail? I for one stopped making “resolutions” when I realized that I was not good at keeping them. Don’t get me wrong, I can be stubborn to the point of being pig-headed, but I just can’t don’t seem to remember to keep them…. so I no longer make them…. Actually, I resolve NOT to make any resolutions… there I made one…

Till Next Time…

 

Tags: , , ,

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
