Much ado about…..

gottaBKD

Archive for December 21st, 2006

Slow and Steady…

Posted by gottabkd on Thursday, December 21, 2006

People move slowly here and I can’t say I blame them…. Slowing down is a nice way of life. I think that’s why we like our vacations, because we actually get to slow down…. Some people can’t though and still find themselves caught up in the hustle and bustel of the-day-to-day quagmire of everyday living. Not me. Even though while on vacation, I wake up early, stay up late, take an afternoon nap I still find it wonderful to slow down. When I was at the beach this a.m. I felt like I had been there for several hours, only to discover that it was only an hour and that had passed. Time just moves so slowly, yet I know that not to far away this too shall all come to an end…. one that will sneak up on me and I will be musing at how quickly the time flew by… but for now…. slow and steady as it passes…. love it….. Time for another dip in that lovely blue ocean…..

Till Next time…..

Posted in Travel | 1 Comment »

The Plane boss…..

Posted by gottabkd on Thursday, December 21, 2006

Travelling late at night is not one of my better skills….. I’m a night owl by nature and figured it would be easy peasy to travel at night. I figured if I got up early the day of departure, I could sleep the flight away. So after waking at 5:30 am the day of departure, because …. well I was just so darned excited to be on vacation that I could not sleep, I putzed the day away by doing mindless things…. breaky at a local restaurant, go to bank to buy US dollars, then back home to do last minute packing… you know the things you do right before your trip. Needless to say I still forgot stuff… nothing major but it would have been nice to be able to listen to some chosen music while away. Not sure if I forgot to put them into the suitcase or someone removed them from my baggage at Canada customs?? Not sure why Canada would do that, and since there was no customs at BGI yesturday morning, I mean there is a customs office only no one was up with the crows working it. Since I was not checked by customs in the Carribbean,  I can only blame myself or Canada customs for my lack of music…. No music thanks to my stipidity or the five finger discount someone may have helped themselves to at customs…

I arrived for my check-in time of 8 pm because I could not check-in any sooner than that. My travel buddy drove the vehicle back home and waited for a friend to return them to the airport. Two and a half hours later “my travel buddy” finally decided to return to the airport after leaving me there all alone. I was not impressed needless to say and not in a very good mood when they returned. I mean really… I’m a big person, I can entertain myself, do a bit of shopping, eat some food, but two hours…. I would never do that to anyone so why do you think it’s OK to do that to me? I must admit that when we did finally get on the plane, it was a very quiet, non talkative flight that’s for sure. You see my mother always told me that if you have nothing nice to say…don’t say anything at all…. and that’s just what I did.

The plane was late leaving YYZ. I flew with Zoom airlines and was completely surprised to learn that a hot meal would be served shorlty after we take off. WOW!! At 1 am an airline will actually feed us a hot meal and not charge us for it. Quite the change from most other airlines who now serve nothing, let alone anything hot! If they do serve something, it’s always a cold sandwich and they charge you an arm and a leg for it. This hot meal was chicken with pasta, roll, cole slaw, spring water, coffee and something chocolate with white icing for desert. Also included was two glasses of wine, either red or white. Not bad considering the alternative of not much on other airlines.

Having never flown the “red eye” to anywhere before, this flight graced us with two inhouse movies, Elf and Pirates of the Caribbean. Neither were current and up to date, but again it was two movies, for a fee of 5 dollars for the headsets. This is a little pricey, but at least you could use them on the return flight home… now why didn’t I bring the headset from home that I had from another flight?… hmmmm Read the rest of this entry »

Posted in Travel | Comments Off on The Plane boss…..

 
