Much ado about…..

gottaBKD

Archive for December 19th, 2006

Easy Peasy Cookies..

Posted by gottabkd on Tuesday, December 19, 2006

Super Easy Peanut Butter Cookies… yummo!!

These are the easiest cookies to make and taste really great.

  1. Mix together 1 cup of Smooth Peanut Butter, 1/2 cup sugar and one egg.
  2. Roll into balls and flatten with a fork on an un-greased cookie sheet.
  3. Bake at 325 degrees Fahrenheit for 15 minutes. Makes about 24 cookies.

Do not over-bake these cookies as they do burn easily. I have doubled this recipe without any issue at all. Ensure that the cookie sizes are about the same so they bake evenly.

Additions: chocolate chips, peanut butter chips or caramel chips are always good mixed in the batter. You could also add 1/2 slice red cherry on each one to give them a more festive feel..

Till Next Time….

 

Tags: , , , ,

Posted in Food and Food Stuff | Comments Off on Easy Peasy Cookies..

Christmas in Canada..

Posted by gottabkd on Tuesday, December 19, 2006

What are your special holiday traditions? This article from MSN Kids Corner which is partially excerpted here, explains some of the traditions throughout Canada:

Christmas in Canada – Traditions:
Trimming trees. Stringing lights. Gathering family. In Canada, many holiday events are universal, but different regions have different Christmas customs and traditions that have been passed down from generation to generation.

In Northern Canada, a big winter festival called Sinck Tuck is celebrated by the Inuit and features parties with dancing and the exchanging of gifts. Also in Northern Canada, taffy pulls are held in honour of Saint Catherine, the patron saint of single women. This party traditionally provided an opportunity for single women to meet eligible single men.

In Nova Scotia and Newfoundland, songs and carols brought from Britain two centuries ago are sung each Christmas morning. During the 12 days of Christmas, small groups of belsnicklers, or masked mummers, appear in neighborhoods ringing bells, making noise, seeking candy or other treats. People dress up in costumes and knock on doors, asking in a disguised voice, “Are there any Mummers in the night?” or “Any mummers ‘loud in?” Then they sing and dance and have Christmas treats before moving on to the next house. If the host does not guess who the Mummers are, he or she must join the Mummers in their merry-making.

Read the rest of this entry »

Posted in All things Canadian | 2 Comments »

19 Hours To Go!!

Posted by gottabkd on Tuesday, December 19, 2006

In about 19 hours the plane will be taking off and heading south to the Caribbean Island of Barbados. I must say…. I am so excited!…

So excited that in fact I barely slept last night only to wake at some ungodly hour of five this morning…. Not wanting to really get up and moving, I tried to lay there and pretend I was already in Bdos. Didn’t work, so I went back to sleep, feeling like I had missed the whole day, I finally pulled myself out of bed at 8 a.m.

I busied myself by doing dishes, cleaning up a little bit and now going into the shower. I think this day will go by soooo slowly and the reality won’t sink in till the plane finally takes off. Oh well, once I get there the next 20 days will just fly by.

So off I go to do the final things that need to be done and basically get this day on the road…

Till Next Time….

Tags: ,

Posted in Travel | 3 Comments »

I Wish You….

Posted by gottabkd on Tuesday, December 19, 2006

dove-in-flight.gif

I wish you enough sun to keep your attitude bright.

I wish you enough rain to appreciate the sun more.

I wish you enough happiness to keep your spirit alive.

I wish you enough pain so that the smallest joys in life appear much bigger.

I wish you enough gain to satisfy your wanting.

I wish you enough loss to appreciate all that you possess.

I wish enough “Hello’s” to get you through the final “Good-bye.”

My friends and loved ones, I wish you ENOUGH!!!!

Tags: ,

Posted in Hmmmmmm | Comments Off on I Wish You….

 
