Much ado about…..

gottaBKD

Twelve days of Christmas.

Posted by gottabkd on Tuesday, December 12, 2006

Today I ask you “What is your reason for this season?”

Is it the receiving and giving of presents? Is it the gathering with friends and family? Is it the “party” of it all? Is it the charity that seems to be expressed more at this time of year? Is it the music, the lights, and the good cheer?

Or would you rather have this whole thing go away.. now…thank you very much!!

For me, the reason for the season rests solely on the “Birth of Christ “. Without this monumentous, most publicly chronicled event, coupled with the explanation and story of His life….. well.. quite frankly there simply would not be a Christmas as we know it. The very name of this event centers on Him and not some other man made event called something else…… perhaps Gift day!

While most, if not all of the Christmas carols, especially the mainstays of this season, also centre around Him and the celebrations of His birth, there are a few exceptions that have come out over the years, especially from younger singers/song writers of today.

One such carol, that I have always wondered about is “The Twelve Days of Christmas”. As a child, this particular song evoked (selfish) thoughts of “wanting to know someone who loved me so much that they would actually stretch out Christmas for twelve days and give me gifts everyday.” This, I thought was leading up to Christmas day.

I admit I had visions of receiving everything I ever wanted, everything I could possibly think of, for at least one Christmas in my lifetime. Even the weird and whacky gifts of the song made me want my version to play out even more . Wow I thought, that would be really cool? Drool, drool, eyes are a popping now.



OK back to the carols….

Actually even this song is deep rooted in Christian faith. It is the twelve days between Christmas (Dec. 25th) and Epiphany (Jan 6th) and Encarta explains the twelve days of Christmas as this”

“The official Christmas season is popularly known as Christmastide or the Twelve Days of Christmas and extends from the anniversary of Christ’s birth on December 25 to the feast of Epiphany on January 6. On the Epiphany, some Catholics and Protestants celebrate the visit of the Magi—the arrival of the Three Wise Men of the East in Bethlehem (near Jerusalem, Israel), where they adored the infant Jesus and presented him with gifts of gold, frankincense, and myrrh. Orthodox Christians, who call the feast Theophany, celebrate the baptism of Christ.”

While Snopes debunks the myth that this song was somehow a coded message used to save Catholicism throughout England, at a time when religion was supposedly banned or suppressed.

Still, as a child did you not think some similar thoughts as I did? I know you did and may not want to admit it out loud, but if that event would have happened, just once in my childhood I knew I would be more than just happy, I would have been ecstatic. Not being a math wizard, and fairly young at the time of these thoughts, I also wondered how many gifts would there be under that there tree? Gifts with my name on it!!

There was this one Christmas when my parents gave to us, an endless supply of the things on our list to Santa that year, which thinking back, truly seemed to fulfill this dream. Thanks Mom and Dad for creating that wonderful memory!! It really was cool.. So I guess it did happen after all..

Just add up all the gifts for each of the days to get the total for 12 days of Christmas.

Wow…. that’s a lot of gifts!!

Cheers!

Till next time….

 

Tags: , , ,

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
